What is the European Credit Transfer and Accumulation System (ECTS)?

The European Credit Transfer and Accumulation System (ECTS) is a student-centred system based on the student workload required to achieve the objectives of a programme of study. It's aim is to facilitate the recognition of study periods undertaken abroad by mobile students through the transfer of credits. The ECTS is based on the principle that 60 credits are equivalent to the workload of a full-time student during one academic year. ECTS makes teaching and learning in higher education more transparent across Europe and facilitates the recognition of all studies. The system allows for the transfer of learning experiences between different institutions, greater student mobility and more flexible routes to gain degrees. It also aids curriculum design and quality assurance. (From EC lifelong learning policy)


What is a multiple degree?

A multiple degree is a diploma delivered by an institution, and it is fully recognized in the country of delivery as well as in countries of partner institutions in which the student has studied. If two countries are involved, the degree is called double degree.

What is a joint degree?

A joint degree is fully recognized in all countries of delivery as same as national degrees.

You are here: Accueil F.A.Q